Skip to main content


The College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Council contributes to College's ability to meet its mission in teaching, scholarship, and service. The Advisory Council provides leadership, contributes financially, and provides necessary linkages with others who are able to provide leadership and financial support to the College of Arts and Sciences. The Advisory Council provides a strong connection between the real world and the campus environment.


Members of the College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Council are members of the Permian Basin community who have distinguished themselves and who have an affinity for the College of Arts and Sciences, as well as the University. Appointment is by invitation from the Dean of College with approval of the University President.


The Council meets semi-annually: once in the fall and once in the spring. Meetings are normally held on The University of Texas of the Permian Basin campus. The meeting is chaired by the Chair of the College Advisory Council.


Members are asked to serve a three-year term with the possibility of reappointment for an additional three-year term. In general, members are invited to remain on the Council as long as they;

--contribute positively to the purpose of the Council
--attend meetings with a reasonable degree of regularity, and
--desire to retain membership


There are no dues associated with membership. Although there are no dues, the College of Arts and Sciences encourages Council members to make contributions in support of the College's activities, such as the College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Lecture Series and the College Development Fund which supports faculty and student projects.

Current Members 2012-2016

Ms. Lynn Van Amburgh
25 San Lucas Court
Odessa, TX 79765

Ms. Carole Betton
2405 Camarie Ave.
Midland, TX 79705

Mr. Bobby Burns
3311 Ebbets
Midland, TX 79707

Ms. Barbara Davis
35 Muirfield Drive
Odessa, TX 79762

Ms. Margaret Helen Gillham
55 Prestwick Drive
Odessa, TX 79762

Dr. Arun Mathews, M.D.
1912 Gladewood Dr.
Midland, TX 79707


Dr. Dennis Neely
4309 Irvin Dr.
Midland, TX 79705

Mr. Jay Norris
3701 Bermuda Court
Midland, TX 79707

Ms. Pam Price
1806 W. 24th St.
Odessa, TX 79763