Skip to main content

The College of Arts and Sciences was formed in 1994 by combining the divisions of Behavioral Sciences, Humanities and Fine Arts and Science and Mathematics renaming them “departments.” From these roots the College has grown to over 150 full-time and part-time faculty. In 2007, the three departments were reorganized into nine departments. Those departments and the degrees awarded by each are listed below.

The College offers the Bachelor of Arts (BA), Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), Bachelor of Music (BM), Bachelor of Science (BS), or Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) degrees in 22 different areas and the Master of Arts (MA), Master of Science (MA) or Masters in Public Administration-Leadership (MPAL) degrees in 11 different areas. This wide variety of graduate and undergraduate degree programs provides students with an excellent opportunity to find the program best suited to their educational, professional, and career goals.

The mission of the College of Arts and Sciences is to prepare students to think critically, communicate effectively, and carry out the duties of responsible citizens and competent professions. Central to this task is a general education curriculum that requires study in a broad array of disciplines designed to provide breadth and diversity of knowledge and skills. In addition, the College addresses the needs of those students who desire intensive study in a major discipline in the arts and sciences. To make the most of a liberal arts and science education, these students move beyond the breadth of general education to mastering a major discipline in considerable depth. The complete College of Arts and Sciences Mission Statement is available by clicking here.

The faculty members of the College share a commitment to the advancement and dissemination of knowledge through excellence in teaching, scholarship and creative activities. The College is proud of its ten master's level research and applied graduate programs which are designed to afford students the opportunity for advanced academic and health related work, careers in teaching, laboratory and naturalistic research, creative and professional endeavors and other areas of scholarly or public service. See the University of Texas of the Permian Basin's Graduate Studies Catalog for more details.

Department of Biology

Biology: BS and MS
Department of History
History: BA and MA
Humanities: BA

Department of Kinesiology
Kinesiology: BS and MS  
Athletic Training Education: BS
Department of Literature and Languages
English: BA and MA
Spanish: BA and MA

Department of Mathematics and Computer Sciences
Computer Science: BS and MS
Information Systems: BS
Mathematics: BS and MS
Department of Physical Sciences
Chemistry: BS
Geography: selected courses
Geology: BS and MS
Physics: selected courses

Department of Psychology
Psychology: BA and MA

Department of Social Sciences
Criminology: BA
Criminal Justice (Online): BS
Criminal Justice Administration: MS
Leadership Studies: minor
Political Science: BA
Public Administration - Leadership: MPAL
Sociology: BA
Social Work: BSW.

Department of Visual and Performing Arts
Art: BA and BFA
Communication: BA
Drama: minor
Music: BM