Skip to main content

38th Annual Honors Convocation Recognizes Excellence Among Faculty and Students

by Travis Woodward, Director of Communication & Special Projects, 432-552-2547 | May 07, 2014

Five faculty members were winners of special awards at the 38th Annual UT Permian Basin Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 17 in the Main Auditorium of the Wagner Noël Performing Arts Center Jessica Staib, assistant professor of Educational Leadership, won the La Mancha Society Golden Windmill Award which is given to an assistant professor to support and encourage young faculty.

Ms. Lorraine Spickermann, lecturer in Education, won the President’s Teaching Award. Dr. Anthony Hoskin, assistant professor of Criminology, won the President’s Research Award. The President’s Service Award, went to two individuals; Dr. Kay Ketzenberger, associate professor of Psychology/Social Work and Dr. Roy Hurst, professor of Education.

Numerous scholarship recipients, honor roll students and outstanding graduates in various discipines were also recognized. “Scholarships provide us a way to recognize and reward excellence,” said Dr. William Fannin, provost and vice president.

“The future of the state of Texas is here,” said Senator Kel Seliger, in his convocation address to the audience. “You represent the best hope for the future.”