Nursing and Pre-Health Scholarships

Growing the next generation of healthcare professionals

Interested in Nursing or Pre-Health?

Health Care careers are in high demand. And UT Permian Basin wants to help take some of your undergraduate costs off your plate! In partnership with the Permian Strategic Partnership (PSP), UTPB is able to cover tuition and mandatory fees for undergraduates majoring in Nursing, Pre-Med, Pre-Dental, Pre-Pharmacy, and other pre-health related fields through a competitive, renewable four-year scholarship. Funding is awarded through a combination of federal, state, and institutional funds to qualifying students.

PSP Scholarship candidates must:

  • be a permanent resident of the Permian Basin1 
  • attend UT Permian Basin with intent to major in Nursing or a pre-health major.  
  • be enrolled full-time at UT Permian Basin. 
  • exhibit rigorous course selection, participation, and academic performance. 

PSP Scholars will be selected using a holistic review with the following considerations: statement of interest indicating your commitment to the medical profession, GPA, ACT/SAT scores (not required but considered if submitted), volunteer service, applicable course completion (high school and/or community college).

Our goal is to grow the next generation of healthcare providers in the Permian Basin. We want to support our hospitals and clinics by training talented, experienced, and motivated professionals ready to serve our community. To further support our hospitals and clinics, scholarship recipients must agree to work three years after graduation in their health-related field for an employer in the Permian Basin.

The priority deadline for scholarship applicants is Wednesday, March 6, 2024.

The 2024-2025 PSP Scholarship application deadline is Monday, April 1, 2024. Any applications submitted past that date will not be considered.

You can afford UTPB!

UT Permian Basin has many opportunities for you to earn your degree with little (or no) debt!

1 Permian Basin Counties

Texas: Andrews, Brewster, Crane, Culberson, Dawson, Ector, Gaines, Glasscock, Howard, Loving, Martin, Midland, Pecos, Reagan, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward, and Winkler

New Mexico: Chaves, Eddy, and Lea

This guarantee is subject to change without notice based on the annual funding levels provided to the university by the federal and state education agencies.