Test

Explanation of Fees

Breaking down what you’re paying for.

**The University of Texas System Board of Regents (the Board) is authorized to set tuition for UT System institutions. Should the Board make any tuition and fee increases for the 2022-2023 academic year at an upcoming Board meeting, the actual tuition rate will be set after the Board of Regents meets. Your estimated tuition bill for the Fall 2022 term will be available at that time.

Any increase in single-year resident undergraduate tuition at UT Permian Basin will not exceed 3 percent for the 2022-2023 academic year. UT Permian Basin also offers a four-year guaranteed tuition plan.

Actual charges for your fall 2022 registration will be posted to your my.UTPB.edu account in July. Your registration will be complete once your tuition bill is paid.

Pursuant to state law, the University of Texas Board of Regents is authorized to set tuition. The UT Board of Regents will consider proposed tuition and fee increases at its May 2022 meeting. Your registration is not final at this time. It will be finalized after the Board's May action setting tuition and fees for the 2022/2023 academic year. Any amount you pay at this time will be credited toward the amount set by the UT Board at the May meeting.

If you have questions, please contact Student Accounts at 432-552-2706.**

We get it, your student bill can be a bit confusing. At UT Permian Basin, we strive to be as transparent as possible to help you understand what exactly you’re paying for. We know college is an investment and you deserve to know where your hard-earned money is going.  

Undergraduate Mandatory Fees 

Frequency In-State / Adjacent County New Mexico Resident Out of State Non-Resident International Non-Resident Online Program

Tuition

Per Semester Credit Hour* $219.22 $249.22 $627.22 $627.22 $319
Advising Per Term $35 $35 $35 $35 $35
Athletics* Per Credit Hour $24 $24 $24 $24 Waived
Technology Per Credit Hour $25.50 $25.50 $25.50 $25.50 --
Library Services Per Credit Hour $9 $9 $9 $9 --
Student Service Per Credit Hour $17.97 $17.97 $17.97 $17.97 Waived
Multipurpose Center

Per Term

$150 $150 $150 $150 Waived
Medical Service Per Term $16.09 $16.09 $16.09 $16.09 Waived
Distance Ed  Per Credit Hour $105 $105 $105 $105 Waived
Freshman Orientation One Time - 1st Year Only $130 $130 $130 $130 --
Transfer Orientation One Time - Transfer Only $75 $75 $75 $75 --
Laboratory Fee* Per Course Per Term $1-$30 $1-$30 $1-$30 $1-$30 --
Course Fee* Per Course Per Term Varies Varies Varies Varies Varies

 

Graduate Mandatory Fees 

Frequency In-State / Adjacent County New Mexico Resident Out of State Non-Resident International Non-Resident Online Program

Tuition

Per Semester Credit Hour* $274.87 $304.87 $682.87 $682.87 $346
Advising Per Term $35 $35 $35 $35 $35
Athletics* Per Credit Hour $24 $24 $24 $24 Waived
Technology Per Credit Hour $25.50 $25.50 $25.50 $25.50 --
Library Services Per Credit Hour $9 $9 $9 $9 --
Student Service Per Credit Hour $17.97 $17.97 $17.97 $17.97 Waived
Multipurpose Center

Per Term

$150 $150 $150 $150 Waived
Medical Service Per Term $16.09 $16.09 $16.09 $16.09 Waived
Distance Ed  Per Credit Hour $105 $105 $105 $105 Waived
Freshman Orientation One Time - 1st Year Only $120 $120 $120 $120 --
Transfer Orientation One Time - Transfer Only $75 $75 $75 $75 --
Laboratory Fee* Per Course Per Term $1-$30 $1-$30 $1-$30 $1-$30 --
Course Fee* Per Course Per Term Varies Varies Varies Varies Varies

*Further Explanation of Above Fees

  • Tuition Fees are set by the Texas Legislature and UT System Board of Regents (In-State and International Non-Resident) and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
  • Mandatory Fees are non-refundable.
  • Athletics Fee - students will be charged for the athletic fee if enrolled in at least one face-to-face class or mailing address is within the 50-mile radius of 79762.
  • Laboratory Fee - Certain laboratory courses may charge $1 to $30 max per semester and must not exceed the cost of actual materials and supplies used by a student.
  • Course Fees - Charges in addition to regular tuition for students registered in art, architecture, drama, speech, or music where individual coaching or instruction is the usual method of instruction.
  • Course Differential Fee –All students enrolled in certain upper-level courses for business, nursing, and/or engineering.
  • Medical Services Fee - students will be charged for the medical service fee if enrolled in at least one face-to-face class or mailing address is within the 50-mile radius of 79762.
  • Distance Education Fee - Students enrolled in at least one online course – cost associated with providing materials, services and instructional support for Distance Education courses, a $105 per credit hour will be charged.
  • Online Program Fee - Students within the online program – are charged in addition to tuition; in lieu of other mandatory fees.

Incidental Fees

You may also see additional fees on your bill. Some of the most common incidental fees include:

  • Audit Fee - $35 per semester credit hour: fee incurred to schedule on-credit participation in classes.
  • Student ID Card Fee - $10 per ID: Fee for obtaining a student identification card.
  • Add/Drop Fee - $5 per transaction: Fee to adding and/or dropping classes.
  • Graduation Fee - $25 undergrad/$50 graduate: Fee to participate in a graduation ceremony.
  • In-Absentia Fee - $25: Fee to register for a course in-absentia.
  • Late Registration Fee - $15: Fee to register for classes after registration period has ended.
  • Parking Fee - $55: Fee to obtain a student parking permit.
  • Property Deposit - $20: Deposit paid upon admittance as a student to cover any property damage. - Refundable upon request after graduation or withdrawal if no damages incurred.
  • Transcript Fee - $7.00 per copy: Fee to obtain an official UTPB transcript.
  • Returned Payment Fee - $30: Fee for payment returned to us by your bank.
  • Payment Plan Enrollment Fee - $35: Fee to enroll in a payment plan.
  • Payment Plan Late Fee - $10: Fee for paying a payment plan installment after the due date.

Designated Tuition Set-Aside Notice

In accordance with provisions of the Texas Education Code, Section 56.014, each semester UTPB will maintain on the website a notice for every student who has paid designated tuition. The notice will indicate the amount of their tuition that is required to be set aside and used for need-based financial aid to UTPB students. No action is necessary by the recipient, as this is an informational notice only.

  • So what is it? Tuition set aside is the portion of the designated tuition paid by resident students, set aside and dedicated to provide need-based financial aid to students.
  • Why is it set aside in the first place? It’s the law. The University is required to set aside a portion of designated tuition charged to a resident student.
  • How much is set aside? Fifteen-percent per credit hour of designated tuition in excess of $46.00 per credit hour for undergraduate and graduate residents is set aside.