Water Lab

Advisory Board Members

George Nnanna, TWEI Director
Professor, College of Engineering
University of Texas Permian Basin

Duang Germentis, Chair TWEI Advisory Board
Robert Bruant, Vice-Chair TWEI Advisory Board
Vice-Chair, TWEI Advisory Board B3 Data. Insight. Outcomes
Rob Bruant serves as Director of Product for B3 Insight. Previously, Rob worked in various roles for BP and Pioneer Natural Resources, including Strategy Manager, Subsurface Manager, Reservoir Engineer, and Petroleum Systems Analyst. Rob also held positions of Instructor and Research Associate at Princeton University. Rob holds a BA in Geosciences from Franklin and Marshall College, a PhD in Hydrology from the University of Arizona, and an M.B.A. from the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Produced Water Society and contributes as the Membership Chairperson for SPE's Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Sequestration Technical Section. Rob is a licensed Professional Geoscientist, Professional Hydrologist, and Certified Petroleum Engineer.

Josh Brownlow, Chairman TWEI Water Lecture Series
Geologist, Subsurface Pioneer Natural Resources

Gerardo Rivera
Chief Operating Officer
H2O Midstream
Gerardo has over 35 years of domestic and international experience in the energy sector, including 23 years with ConocoPhillips where he began his career. At ConocoPhillips, Gerardo had management assignments in the Upstream and Midstream sectors with exposure to multiple commodities – natural gas, NGLs, LNG, crude oil, and heavy oil. His leadership positions focused on operations, engineering, project execution, and business and commercial development. Prior to joining H2O Midstream, Gerardo served in cer and management roles at Southcross Energy and Vermillion Energy. At Southcross, he was Vice President of NGL Marketing with P&L, operational, and business development responsibilities for the NGL business unit. At Vermillion Energy, a Canadian-based International E&P company, Gerardo served in various leadership roles over corporate and strategic planning; global marketing for crude, natural gas, and NGLs; and mergers and acquisitions. Gerardo holds a Chemical Engineering degree from Texas A&M University.

Patrick Ryan
Hyperion Water Technologies
Patrick Ryan has over 29 years of experience serving the water and wastewater market in executive management, business, and project development roles. He has global experience in executive sales positions working for multinational water companies. Mr. Ryan co-founded a national project development rm serving the Industrial North American water market for over 10 years and has been involved in hundreds of projects. Ryan has been on the front of innovative technology development companies and has worked with several start-up companies to address hyper-desalination technologies, liquid to gas applications, and biological treatment, among others. His project experience in water treatment has allowed him to navigate industries, including Oil & Gas, Power, Mining, Chemical Processing, Food & Beverage, Leachate, and Municipal projects.

Deepak A. Musale, PhD
Water Resources Management Specialist ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company
Dr. Deepak Musale is a Scientist in ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company, focusing on water and wastewater treatment research for Upstream businesses. Prior to joining ExxonMobil in January 2019, he led research and development of membrane-based solutions for water and wastewater treatment in Desalination, Municipal, Food and Beverage, Pulp and Paper, various manufacturing, Power, Oil and Gas, and Steel industries at Ecolab-Nalco, and in Petroleum refiners at Phillips 66, for about 18 years.

Albert Low
Sales Manager
Veolia Water Technologies
Albert Low is an experienced engineer and seasoned sales manager with 27 years of experience in the water/wastewater industry. Albert currently serves as the Sales Manager for Veolia Water Technologies - Los Angeles business unit managing a team of business developers and proposal/application engineers. The LA business unit focused on filtration and separation technologies particularly for the oil elds produced water treatment as well as treatment of heavy industries water/wastewater. Prior to joining Veolia, Albert also worked in other major water treatment companies such as Biwater (membrane system integrator & EPC contractor), Grundfos (pump manufacturer), and Ranhill Consulting (engineering consulting rm) serving in different capacities including Mechanical Engineer, Process Manager, Proposal Manager, Sales Manager, Project Manager, and Vice President. Albert is well versed in designing & integrating treatment technologies, sales management, as well as EPC/DB project management. Albert earned an MBA degree from the University of Strathclyde, UK; and a Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Science, Malaysia.

Christian C. Holcomb
SVP & Chief Operating Officer NGL Water Solutions

Dan Mueller, PE
Senior Manager, Energy Program Environmental Defense Fund

Mukul R. Bhatia, PhD
Executive Professor and Director
Texas A&M University

Robert Crain
Executive Vice President Texas Pacific Water Resources Texas Pacific Land Trust

Nick Hines
Chief Operating Officer Oilfield Water Logistics

Patrick Drew
Engineering Supervisor, Pioneer Water Management Pioneer Natural Resources

Jason R. Vogel, PhD, PE
Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Science Director Oklahoma Water Survey

Dr. Malynda Cappelle
Associate Director of the UTEP Center for Inland Desalination Systems (CIDS) The University of Texas at El Paso

Richard Brantley University Lands UT System

Ying H. Tsang, PhD
Chemical and Water Engineering Advisor Oxy Permian Resources-NM & TX

Joe Titzer
Basin Water Resources

Ramesh Sharma
Conoco Phillips

Chistopher Harich, PhD.
Chief Operating Officer

Dr. Sandra Woodley
The University of Texas Permian Basin

Wendell Snodgrass
Vice President of Institutional Advancement
The University of Texas Permian Basin


UTPB Faculty affiliated with the Institute:


Dr. Sepher Arbabi

Mr. Narenda Boppana


Student Research Assistants:

Christians Castillo
Mechanical Engineering Graduate

Raiel Amesquita
Electrical Engineering

Jan Krystal Jackson
Petroleum Engineering

Gelila Kassaye
Petroleum Engineering Graduate